Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS Marquette, MI

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
000
WHUS43 KMQT 310207
CFWMQT

LAKESHORE HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MARQUETTE MI
1007 PM EDT THU OCT 30 2014

MIZ001>006-009-311800-
/O.CON.KMQT.LS.Y.0001.141031T0600Z-141031T1800Z/
KEWEENAW-ONTONAGON-NORTHERN HOUGHTON-BARAGA-MARQUETTE-ALGER-
GOGEBIC-
INCLUDING THE BEACHES...ALONG LAKE SUPERIOR...MCCARTY COVE...
SOUTH BEACH...AND ALONG LAKEWOOD LANE...NEAR AU TRAIN BAY...
AND ALONG PICTURED ROCKS
1007 PM EDT THU OCT 30 2014 /907 PM CDT THU OCT 30 2014/

...LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 2 AM EDT /1 AM
CDT/ TO 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ FRIDAY...

* WINDS...RAPIDLY INCREASING NORTH WINDS WILL GUST TO AROUND 45 MPH
  OVERNIGHT ALONG THE LAKE SUPERIOR SHORELINE. THE HIGHEST WIND GUSTS
  WILL LAST THROUGH MID MORNING FRIDAY...BEFORE DIMINISHING IN THE
  AFTERNOON.

* WAVES...EXPECT WAVES TO BUILD UP TO 15 FEET OVERNIGHT...AND STAY
  ABOVE 13 FEET ALONG THE LAKE SUPERIOR SHORELINE THROUGH FRIDAY
  MORNING.

* IMPACTS...WITH WAVES THAT HIGH...LOW LYING AREAS WILL FLOOD ALONG
  THE LAKE SUPERIOR SHORELINE...ESPECIALLY ALONG LAKESHORE BOULEVARD
  IN MARQUETTE.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY INDICATES THAT ONSHORE WINDS WILL GENERATE
FLOODING OF LOW AREAS ALONG THE LAKESHORE.

&&

$$

KF





USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.