Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1
000
WHUS42 KTAE 241352
CFWTAE

COASTAL HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE TALLAHASSEE FL
952 AM EDT MON APR 24 2017

...HIGH RISK OF RIP CURRENTS TODAY ALONG GULF COUNTY BEACHES
INCLUDING SAINT JOSEPH PENINSULA STATE PARK...

.NORTHWEST WINDS AT 10 TO 15 MPH AND SURF HEIGHTS OF 2 TO 3 FEET
ALONG GULF COUNTY BEACHES WILL RESULT IN A HIGH RISK OF RIP
CURRENTS TODAY.

FLZ114-242200-
/O.NEW.KTAE.RP.S.0047.170424T1352Z-170424T2200Z/
COASTAL GULF-
952 AM EDT MON APR 24 2017 /852 AM CDT MON APR 24 2017/

...HIGH RIP CURRENT RISK IN EFFECT UNTIL 6 PM EDT /5 PM CDT/ THIS
EVENING...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN TALLAHASSEE HAS ISSUED A HIGH RIP
CURRENT RISK, WHICH IS IN EFFECT UNTIL 6 PM EDT /5 PM CDT/ THIS
EVENING.

* TIMING...THROUGH THIS EVENING.

* IMPACTS...HIGH RISK OF RIP CURRENTS.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

THERE IS A HIGH RISK OF RIP CURRENTS.

RIP CURRENTS ARE POWERFUL CHANNELS OF WATER FLOWING QUICKLY AWAY
FROM SHORE. THEY OCCUR MOST OFTEN AT LOW SPOTS OR BREAKS IN THE
SANDBAR...AS WELL AS IN THE VICINITY OF JETTIES AND PIERS.

HEED THE ADVICE OF LIFEGUARDS...BEACH PATROL FLAGS...AND SIGNS
BEFORE ENTERING THE WATER. IF CAUGHT IN A RIP CURRENT DO NOT SWIM
AGAINST IT. FACE THE SHORE AND SIGNAL FOR HELP. FLOAT OR TREAD
WATER UNTIL THE CURRENT ENDS OR UNTIL RESCUED.

&&

$$



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.