Public Information Statement
Issued by NWS Goodland, KS

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50
305
NOUS43 KGLD 261200
PNSGLD
COZ090>092-KSZ001>004-013>016-027>029-041-042-NEZ079>081-270000-

Public Information Statement
National Weather Service Goodland KS
600 AM MDT Sun Mar 26 2017 /700 AM CDT Sun Mar 26 2017/

...PUBLIC INFORMATION STATEMENT...

...2017 Severe Weather Awareness Week for Nebraska...

Monday, March 27th, through Friday, March 31st, has been designated
as Severe Weather Awareness Week for the state of Nebraska.  This
week provides the National Weather Service with an opportunity to
test communication systems and to get potentially lifesaving
information to the public. Now is the time for everyone to review
their safety plans and prepare for the severe weather season.

Before severe weather strikes, develop a plan of action. Identify a
place for you and your family to take shelter in the event of severe
weather.  Once you have a plan of action, conduct frequent drills to
ensure everyone knows what to do at all times. Make sure you know
what to do if you are at home, work, school, or outdoors, when
severe weather strikes.

Each day during Severe Weather Awareness Week, the National Weather
Service in Goodland will cover severe weather topics and have this
information available on our webpage as well as on NOAA Weather
Radio All Hazards.

Topics which will be covered include:
Severe Weather Terminology
Thunderstorms
Tornadoes
Lightning
Flooding

If no severe weather is occurring or expected, the National Weather
Service in Goodland will be conducting a Tornado Drill on Wednesday,
March 29th at 10:00 AM CDT, 9:00 AM MDT. A test tornado watch will
first be issued at 10:00 AM CDT, 9:00 AM MDT. Next, a test tornado
warning will be issued at 10:30 AM CDT, 9:30 AM MDT. The drill will
come to an end by 11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT. The purpose of this
drill is to ensure that Nebraskans can adequately receive a Tornado
Warning and can practice any actions that would be taken in the
event of a real tornado.  The test warning will be sent through all
communication channels normally used for severe weather
dissemination.

Anytime the threat for severe weather exists, stay updated on the
latest weather information by going to the National Weather Service
Website, http://www.weather.gov, or by tuning in to NOAA Weather
Radio All Hazards, or your local television and radio station.  Make
sure to watch for signs for approaching storms, such as darkening
skies, increasing winds, flashes of lightning, and thunder.

Safety information can be found at: http://www.weather.gov/safety

$$



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.