Red Flag Warning
Issued by NWS Midland/Odessa, TX

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
000
WWUS84 KMAF 270809
RFWMAF

URGENT - FIRE WEATHER MESSAGE
National Weather Service Midland/Odessa TX
309 AM CDT Sat May 27 2017

...RED FLAG WARNING IS IN EFFECT FROM LATE THIS MORNING THROUGH
THIS EVENING FOR RELATIVE HUMIDITY OF 10 PERCENT OR LESS, 20 FOOT
WINDS OF 20 MPH OR MORE, AND VERY HIGH TO EXTREME FIRE DANGER FOR
SOUTHEAST NEW MEXICO AND MOST OF CULBERSON COUNTY...

.Unseasonably warm temperatures and gusty downslope winds will
send minimum humidities plummeting to below 10 percent resulting
in very high to extreme Fire Danger.

NMZ114-115-TXZ057-258-272030-
/O.UPG.KMAF.FW.A.0027.170527T1700Z-170528T0300Z/
/O.NEW.KMAF.FW.W.0036.170527T1700Z-170528T0300Z/
Guadalupe Mountains-Southeast Plains-
Van Horn and Highway 54 Corridor-
309 AM CDT Sat May 27 2017 /209 AM MDT Sat May 27 2017/

...RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT FROM NOON CDT /11 AM MDT/ TODAY TO
10 PM CDT /9 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING FOR RELATIVE HUMIDITY OF 10
PERCENT OR LESS, 20 FOOT WINDS OF 20 MPH OR MORE, AND VERY HIGH
TO EXTREME FIRE DANGER...

The National Weather Service in Midland/Odessa has issued a Red
Flag Warning, which is in effect from noon CDT /11 AM MDT/ today
to 10 PM CDT /9 PM MDT/ this evening. The Fire Weather Watch is
no longer in effect.

* HUMIDITY...5 to 9 percent.

* WIND...West 15 to 25 mph in the plains, 25 to 35 mph and higher
  gusts in the Guadalupe Mountains.

* FIRE DANGER...Very high to extreme.

* IMPACTS...Any fires that develop will likely spread rapidly.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

Stow trailer chains properly.  Hold off on yard work or welding
near dry vegetation.

&&


$$


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.