Marine Weather Message
Issued by NWS Eureka, CA

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
000
WHUS76 KEKA 050930
MWWEKA

URGENT - MARINE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE EUREKA CA
230 AM PDT THU MAY 5 2016

PZZ470-051730-
/O.CON.KEKA.GL.W.0034.000000T0000Z-160507T0600Z/
PT ST GEORGE TO CAPE MENDOCINO 10 TO 60 NM-
230 AM PDT THU MAY 5 2016

...GALE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 11 PM PDT FRIDAY...

* WINDS...N 20 TO 30 KT WITH GUSTS UP TO 40 KT THROUGH TONIGHT
  THEN 20 TO 25 KT WITH GUSTS UP TO 35 KT ON FRIDAY.

* WAVES...N 12 TO 14 FT AROUND 9 SECONDS REMAINING STEEP AND
  ELEVATED THROUGH FRIDAY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A GALE WARNING MEANS WINDS OF 34 TO 47 KNOTS ARE IMMINENT OR
OCCURRING. OPERATING A VESSEL IN GALE CONDITIONS REQUIRES
EXPERIENCE AND PROPERLY EQUIPPED VESSELS. IT IS HIGHLY
RECOMMENDED THAT MARINERS WITHOUT THE PROPER EXPERIENCE SEEK SAFE
HARBOR PRIOR TO THE ONSET OF GALE CONDITIONS.

&&

$$

PZZ475-051730-
/O.CON.KEKA.SE.W.0015.000000T0000Z-160507T1000Z/
/O.CON.KEKA.SC.Y.0052.000000T0000Z-160507T1000Z/
CAPE MENDOCINO TO PT ARENA 10 TO 60 NM-
230 AM PDT THU MAY 5 2016

...HAZARDOUS SEAS WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 3 AM PDT
SATURDAY...
...SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 3 AM PDT
SATURDAY...

* WINDS...N 15 TO 25 KT OCCASIONAL GUSTS UP TO 35 KT TODAY.

* WAVES...NW 11 TO 13 FT REMAINING STEEP AND ELEVATED THROUGH
  FRIDAY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A HAZARDOUS SEAS WARNING MEANS HAZARDOUS SEA CONDITIONS ARE
IMMINENT OR OCCURRING. RECREATIONAL BOATERS SHOULD REMAIN IN
PORT...OR TAKE SHELTER UNTIL WAVES SUBSIDE.  COMMERCIAL VESSELS
SHOULD PREPARE FOR ROUGH SEAS AND CONSIDER REMAINING IN PORT OR
TAKING SHELTER IN PORT UNTIL HAZARDOUS SEAS SUBSIDE.

A SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY MEANS THAT WIND SPEEDS OF 21 TO 33 KNOTS
ARE EXPECTED TO PRODUCE HAZARDOUS WAVE CONDITIONS TO SMALL CRAFT.
INEXPERIENCED MARINERS...ESPECIALLY THOSE OPERATING SMALLER
VESSELS SHOULD AVOID NAVIGATING IN THESE CONDITIONS.

&&

$$

PZZ450-051730-
/O.CON.KEKA.SC.Y.0052.000000T0000Z-160507T1800Z/
PT ST GEORGE TO CAPE MENDOCINO OUT 10 NM-
230 AM PDT THU MAY 5 2016

...SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 11 AM PDT
SATURDAY...

* WAVES...NW 9 TO 10 FT AT 9 TO 10 SECONDS REMAINING STEEP AND
  ELEVATED THROUGH FRIDAY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY MEANS THAT WIND SPEEDS OF 21 TO 33 KNOTS
ARE EXPECTED TO PRODUCE HAZARDOUS WAVE CONDITIONS TO SMALL CRAFT.
INEXPERIENCED MARINERS...ESPECIALLY THOSE OPERATING SMALLER
VESSELS SHOULD AVOID NAVIGATING IN THESE CONDITIONS.

$$



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.