Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS Northern Indiana

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
000
WHUS43 KIWX 011654
CFWIWX

LAKESHORE HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
1254 PM EDT WED JUL 1 2015

INZ003-MIZ077-020100-
/O.NEW.KIWX.BH.S.0007.150701T1654Z-150702T0100Z/
LA PORTE-BERRIEN-
1254 PM EDT WED JUL 1 2015

...BEACH HAZARDS STATEMENT IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 PM EDT /8 PM CDT/
THIS EVENING...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A
BEACH HAZARDS STATEMENT FOR HIGH WAVE ACTION AND DANGEROUS
SWIMMING CONDITIONS...WHICH IS IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 PM EDT /8 PM
CDT/ THIS EVENING.

* HIGH WAVE ACTION AND DANGEROUS SWIMMING CONDITIONS EXPECTED...
  WAVES OF 3 TO 5 FEET WILL CONTINUE THIS AFTERNOON...SUBSIDING
  TO 1 TO 3 FEET THIS EVENING.

* STRONG RIP CURRENTS EXPECTED...

* STRONG STRUCTURAL CURRENTS EXPECTED...

* OVERVIEW/POTENTIAL IMPACTS...NORTH WINDS WILL CONTINUE TO ALLOW
  WAVES OF 3 TO 5 FEET THROUGH THE REMAINDER OF THE AFTERNOON. THIS
  WILL RESULT IN HIGH WAVES...STRONG RIP CURRENTS...AND STRUCTURAL
  CURRENTS ON LAKE MICHIGAN BEACHES IN LAPORTE AND BERRIEN COUNTIES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

LIFE THREATENING WAVES AND CURRENTS ARE EXPECTED AT THE BEACHES.
PEOPLE VISITING THE BEACHES SHOULD STAY OUT OF THE WATER.

RIP CURRENTS ARE POWERFUL CHANNELS OF WATER FLOWING QUICKLY AWAY
FROM SHORE...WHICH OCCUR MOST OFTEN AT LOW SPOTS OR BREAKS IN
SANDBARS. RIP CURRENTS CAN SWEEP YOU INTO DEEPER WATER.

STRUCTURAL CURRENTS FORM ALONG PIERS WHERE LONGSHORE CURRENTS AND
WAVE ACTION FLOW INTO THE STRUCTURE. STRUCTURAL CURRENTS CAN
SWEEP YOU OUT INTO DEEPER WATER ALONG THE PIER STRUCTURE.

&&

$$


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.