Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS Northern Indiana

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary Off
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6

000
WHUS43 KIWX 012037
CFWIWX

LAKESHORE HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
437 PM EDT WED JUL 1 2015

INZ003-MIZ077-020100-
/O.CON.KIWX.BH.S.0007.000000T0000Z-150702T0100Z/
LA PORTE-BERRIEN-
437 PM EDT WED JUL 1 2015

...BEACH HAZARDS STATEMENT REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 PM EDT /8 PM
CDT/ THIS EVENING...

* HIGH WAVE ACTION AND DANGEROUS SWIMMING CONDITIONS EXPECTED...
  WAVES OF 3 TO 5 FEET WILL CONTINUE EARLY THIS EVENING...
  SUBSIDING TO 1 TO 3 FEET BY LATE THIS EVENING.

* STRONG RIP CURRENTS EXPECTED...

* STRONG STRUCTURAL CURRENTS EXPECTED...

* OVERVIEW/POTENTIAL IMPACTS...NORTH WINDS WILL CONTINUE TO
  ALLOW WAVES OF 3 TO 5 FEET THROUGH THE REMAINDER OF THE
  AFTERNOON. THIS WILL RESULT IN HIGH WAVES...STRONG RIP
  CURRENTS...AND STRUCTURAL CURRENTS ON LAKE MICHIGAN BEACHES IN
  LAPORTE AND BERRIEN COUNTIES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

LIFE THREATENING WAVES AND CURRENTS ARE EXPECTED AT THE BEACHES.
PEOPLE VISITING THE BEACHES SHOULD STAY OUT OF THE WATER.

RIP CURRENTS ARE POWERFUL CHANNELS OF WATER FLOWING QUICKLY AWAY
FROM SHORE...WHICH OCCUR MOST OFTEN AT LOW SPOTS OR BREAKS IN
SANDBARS. RIP CURRENTS CAN SWEEP YOU INTO DEEPER WATER.

STRUCTURAL CURRENTS FORM ALONG PIERS WHERE LONGSHORE CURRENTS AND
WAVE ACTION FLOW INTO THE STRUCTURE. STRUCTURAL CURRENTS CAN
SWEEP YOU OUT INTO DEEPER WATER ALONG THE PIER STRUCTURE.

&&

$$


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.