Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS Northern Indiana

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Graphics & Text | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
000
WHUS43 KIWX 300823
CFWIWX

URGENT - IMMEDIATE BROADCAST REQUESTED
LAKESHORE HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
423 AM EDT THU OCT 30 2014

INZ003-MIZ077-301630-
/O.NEW.KIWX.LS.Y.0001.141031T1200Z-141101T0900Z/
LA PORTE-BERRIEN-
423 AM EDT THU OCT 30 2014 /323 AM CDT THU OCT 30 2014/

...LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM CDT/
FRIDAY TO 5 AM EDT /4 AM CDT/ SATURDAY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A
LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM
CDT/ FRIDAY TO 5 AM EDT /4 AM CDT/ SATURDAY.

VERY STRONG NORTH WINDS WILL DEVELOP ON LAKE MICHIGAN FRIDAY RESULTING
IN HIGH WAVES WHICH WILL CAUSE MINOR BEACH EROSION AND LAKESHORE
FLOODING. THE WAVES WILL ALSO BE HIGH ENOUGH TO WASH OVER PIERS
AND BREAKWALLS. DO NOT VENTURE ONTO PIERS OR BREAKWALLS WHILE THE
HIGH WAVES ARE OCCURRING OR RUN THE RISK OF BEING SWEPT INTO THE
LAKE.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY INDICATES THAT ONSHORE WINDS WILL
GENERATE FLOODING OF LOW AREAS ALONG THE LAKESHORE.

&&

$$






USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.