Red Flag Warning
Issued by NWS North Platte, NE

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
000
WWUS83 KLBF 290801
RFWLBF

URGENT - FIRE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTH PLATTE NE
301 AM CDT SUN MAR 29 2015

...CRITICAL FIRE DANGER TODAY...

.A CORRIDOR OF STRONG NORTHWEST WINDS WILL DEVELOP THIS MORNING
AND CONTINUE STRONG THROUGH 3 PM CDT THIS AFTERNOON. AFTERNOON
HUMIDITY AROUND 20 PERCENT WILL CREATE CRITICAL FIRE DANGER.

NEZ204-290915-
/O.EXP.KLBF.FW.W.0009.000000T0000Z-150329T0800Z/
EASTERN PANHANDLE/CRESCENT LAKE NWR-
201 AM MDT SUN MAR 29 2015

...RED FLAG WARNING WILL EXPIRE AT 2 AM MDT EARLY THIS MORNING
FOR WIND AND LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY FOR THE EASTERN PANHANDLE AND
WESTERN SANDHILLS...

A RANGE FIRE IS UNDERWAY AND BURNING SOUTH BETWEEN ARTHUR...TRYON
AND KEYSTONE. FIRE OFFICIALS HAVE RESPONDED TO THIS FIRE. WINDS
ARE EXPECTED TO SUBSIDE LATER THIS MORNING IN THIS AREA.

$$

NEZ206-208-209-300100-
/O.NEW.KLBF.FW.W.0010.150329T1500Z-150330T0100Z/
SANDHILLS/VALENTINE NWR/NEBRASKA NATIONAL FOREST/
SAMUEL R MCKELVIE NATIONAL FOREST-
NIOBRARA VALLEY/FORT NIOBRARA NWR-LOUP RIVERS BASIN-
301 AM CDT SUN MAR 29 2015 /201 AM MDT SUN MAR 29 2015/

...RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CDT /9 AM MDT/ THIS
MORNING TO 8 PM CDT /7 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING FOR WIND AND LOW
RELATIVE HUMIDITY FOR THE CENTRAL SANDHILLS...THE LOUP RIVER
BASINS AND THE NIOBRARA VALLEY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTH PLATTE HAS ISSUED A RED
FLAG WARNING FOR WIND AND LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY...WHICH IS IN
EFFECT FROM 10 AM CDT /9 AM MDT/ THIS MORNING TO 8 PM CDT /7 PM
MDT/ THIS EVENING.

* AFFECTED AREA...IN NEBRASKA...FIRE WEATHER ZONE 206
  SANDHILLS/VALENTINE NWR/NEBRASKA NATIONAL FOREST/ SAMUEL R
  MCKELVIE NATIONAL FOREST...FIRE WEATHER ZONE 208 NIOBRARA
  VALLEY/FORT NIOBRARA NWR AND FIRE WEATHER ZONE 209 LOUP RIVERS
  BASIN.

* WINDS...NORTHWEST 20 TO 30 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 45 MPH THIS
  MORNING AND EARLY THIS AFTERNOON SUBSIDING TO 10 TO 20 MPH
  AROUND 3 PM CDT...2 PM MDT.

* RELATIVE HUMIDITY...AS LOW AS 19 PERCENT.

* IMPACTS...ANY RANGE FIRE THAT START MAY HAVE THE POTENTIAL TO
  BURN OUT OF CONTROL AND EXHIBIT EXTREME BURNING BEHAVIOR.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A RED FLAG WARNING MEANS THAT CRITICAL FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS
ARE EITHER OCCURRING NOW...OR WILL SHORTLY. A COMBINATION OF
STRONG WINDS...LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY...AND WARM TEMPERATURES WILL
CONTRIBUTE TO EXTREME FIRE BEHAVIOR.

&&

$$

HTTP://WEATHER.GOV/LBF




USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.