Marine Weather Message
Issued by NWS Marquette, MI

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23
000
WHUS73 KMQT 240210
MWWMQT

URGENT - MARINE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MARQUETTE MI
1010 PM EDT SAT APR 23 2016

LSZ162-241015-
/O.CON.KMQT.GL.W.0020.160424T1500Z-160426T0000Z/
LAKE SUPERIOR WEST OF A LINE FROM SAXON HARBOR WI TO GRAND
PORTAGE MN BEYOND 5NM-
1010 PM EDT SAT APR 23 2016 /910 PM CDT SAT APR 23 2016/

...GALE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/
SUNDAY TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ MONDAY...

A GALE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/
SUNDAY TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ MONDAY.

* WIND AND WAVES DURING THE GALE WARNING: EXPECT SUSTAINED WINDS
  OF UP TO 31 KNOTS FROM THE NORTHEAST...WITH GUSTS UP TO 42
  KNOTS. THE LARGEST EXPECTED SIGNIFICANT WAVES WILL BE 10 FEET
  WITH A MAXIMUM WAVE HEIGHT OF UP TO 15 FEET POSSIBLE.

* TIMING: THE MAXIMUM WINDS ARE EXPECTED AROUND 10 PM EDT SUNDAY
  WITH THE LARGEST WAVES EXPECTED AROUND 9 AM EDT MONDAY.

PLEASE SEE THE LATEST MARINE FORECASTS FOR MORE DETAILED
INFORMATION.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A GALE WARNING MEANS WINDS OF 34 TO 47 KNOTS ARE IMMINENT OR
OCCURING. OPERATING A VESSEL IN GALE CONDITIONS REQUIRES
EXPERIENCE AND PROPERLY EQUIPPED VESSELS. IT IS HIGHLY
RECOMMENDED THAT MARINERS WITHOUT THE PROPER EXPERIENCE SEEK SAFE
HARBOR PRIOR TO THE ONSET OF GALE CONDITIONS.

&&

$$

RJT



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.