Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS Marquette, MI

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2
000
WHUS43 KMQT 231945
CFWMQT

LAKESHORE HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MARQUETTE MI
345 PM EDT MON OCT 23 2017

MIZ001-003-240500-
/O.CON.KMQT.LS.W.0001.171024T1000Z-171025T0300Z/
KEWEENAW-NORTHERN HOUGHTON-
345 PM EDT MON OCT 23 2017

...LAKESHORE FLOOD WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 6 AM TO 11 PM
EDT TUESDAY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MARQUETTE HAS ISSUED A LAKESHORE
FLOOD WARNING, WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 6 AM TO 11 PM EDT TUESDAY.

* WINDS...NORTH WINDS OVER CENTRAL LAKE SUPERIOR WILL INCREASE
  TO 40 TO 50 MPH EARLY TUESDAY. WIND GUSTS OF 60 TO 70 MPH ARE
  POSSIBLE. WINDS WILL GRADUALLY DIMINISH LATE TUESDAY AFTERNOON
  AND EVENING.

* WAVES...WAVES WILL BUILD TO AS HIGH AS 20 TO 25 FEET BY LATE
  TUESDAY MORNING, THEN GRADUALLY SUBSIDE LATER TUESDAY
  AFTERNOON AND EVENING.

* IMPACTS...THE LARGE, POUNDING WAVES WILL COMBINE WITH ABOVE
  AVERAGE LAKE SUPERIOR WATER LEVELS FOR OCTOBER TO PRODUCE
  SIGNIFICANT BEACH FLOODING AND BEACH EROSION ON NORTHWEST AND
  NORTH FACING BEACHES DURING TUESDAY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD WARNING MEANS THAT FLOODING IS OCCURRING OR
IMMINENT ALONG THE LAKE. RESIDENTS ON OR NEAR THE SHORE IN THE
WARNED AREA SHOULD BE ALERT FOR RISING WATER, AND TAKE
APPROPRIATE ACTION TO PROTECT LIFE AND PROPERTY.

&&

$$

MIZ005-006-240500-
/O.CON.KMQT.LS.W.0001.171024T0900Z-171025T0600Z/
MARQUETTE-ALGER-
345 PM EDT MON OCT 23 2017

...LAKESHORE FLOOD WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 5 AM TUESDAY TO
2 AM EDT WEDNESDAY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MARQUETTE HAS ISSUED A LAKESHORE
FLOOD WARNING, WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 5 AM TUESDAY TO 2 AM EDT
WEDNESDAY.

* WINDS...NORTH WINDS OVER SOUTH CENTRAL LAKE SUPERIOR WILL
  INCREASE TO 40 TO 50 MPH LATE TONIGHT THROUGH TUESDAY. WIND
  GUSTS OF 60 TO 70 MPH ARE POSSIBLE. WINDS WILL GRADUALLY
  DIMINISH TUESDAY AFTERNOON AND EVENING.

* WAVES...WAVES WILL BUILD TO AS HIGH AS 20 TO 28 FEET BY LATE
  TUESDAY MORNING, THEN GRADUALLY SUBSIDE LATER TUESDAY AFTERNOON
  AND EVENING.

* IMPACTS...THE LARGE, POUNDING WAVES WILL COMBINE WITH ABOVE
  AVERAGE LAKE SUPERIOR WATER LEVELS FOR OCTOBER TO PRODUCE
  SIGNIFICANT BEACH FLOODING AND BEACH EROSION ON TUESDAY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD WARNING MEANS THAT FLOODING IS OCCURRING OR
IMMINENT ALONG THE LAKE. RESIDENTS ON OR NEAR THE SHORE IN THE
WARNED AREA SHOULD BE ALERT FOR RISING WATER, AND TAKE
APPROPRIATE ACTION TO PROTECT LIFE AND PROPERTY.

&&

$$

MIZ002-009-240500-
/O.CON.KMQT.LS.Y.0001.171024T1000Z-171025T0300Z/
ONTONAGON-GOGEBIC-
345 PM EDT MON OCT 23 2017 /245 PM CDT MON OCT 23 2017/

...LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 6 AM EDT /5 AM
CDT/ TO 11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ TUESDAY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MARQUETTE HAS ISSUED A LAKESHORE
FLOOD ADVISORY, WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 6 AM EDT /5 AM CDT/ TO
11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ TUESDAY.

* WINDS...NORTH WINDS OVER WESTERN LAKE SUPERIOR WILL INCREASE
  TO 40 TO 50 MPH TUESDAY MORNING. WIND GUSTS UP TO 55 MPH ARE
  POSSIBLE. WINDS WILL GRADUALLY DIMINISH TUESDAY AFTERNOON AND
  EVENING.

* WAVES...WAVES WILL BUILD TO AS HIGH AS 13 TO 18 FEET BY LATE
  TUESDAY MORNING, THEN GRADUALLY SUBSIDE LATER TUESDAY
  AFTERNOON AND EVENING.

* IMPACTS...THE LARGE, POUNDING WAVES WILL COMBINE WITH ABOVE
  AVERAGE LAKE SUPERIOR WATER LEVELS FOR OCTOBER TO PRODUCE
  AREAS OF BEACH FLOODING AND BEACH EROSION ON TUESDAY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY INDICATES THAT ONSHORE WINDS AND WAVES
WILL GENERATE FLOODING OF LOW AREAS ALONG THE LAKESHORE.

&&

$$

MIZ007-240500-
/O.CON.KMQT.LS.Y.0001.171024T0900Z-171024T1800Z/
LUCE-
345 PM EDT MON OCT 23 2017

...LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 5 AM TO 2 PM
EDT TUESDAY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MARQUETTE HAS ISSUED A LAKESHORE
FLOOD ADVISORY, WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 5 AM TO 2 PM EDT TUESDAY.

* WINDS...NORTH WINDS OVER EASTERN LAKE SUPERIOR WILL INCREASE
  TO 40 TO 50 MPH LATE TONIGHT THROUGH EARLY TUESDAY MORNING.
  WIND GUSTS UP TO 55 MPH ARE POSSIBLE. WINDS WILL GRADUALLY
  DIMINISH LATER TUESDAY MORNING AND AFTERNOON.

* WAVES...WAVES WILL BUILD TO HIGH AS 14 TO 18 FEET BY TUESDAY
  MORNING, THEN GRADUALLY SUBSIDE DURING THE AFTERNOON AND
  EVENING.

* IMPACTS...THE LARGE, POUNDING WAVES WILL COMBINE WITH ABOVE
  AVERAGE LAKE SUPERIOR WATER LEVELS FOR OCTOBER TO PRODUCE
  AREAS OF BEACH FLOODING AND BEACH EROSION ON TUESDAY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY INDICATES THAT ONSHORE WINDS AND WAVES
WILL GENERATE FLOODING OF LOW AREAS ALONG THE LAKESHORE.

&&

$$

07



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.