Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
985
WHUS42 KTAE 181804
CFWTAE

Coastal Hazard Message
National Weather Service Tallahassee FL
104 PM EST Thu Jan 18 2018

...HIGH RISK OF RIP CURRENT AT GULF COUNTY BEACHES TODAY...

FLZ114-190200-
/O.NEW.KTAE.RP.S.0009.180118T1804Z-180119T0200Z/
Coastal Gulf-
104 PM EST Thu Jan 18 2018 /1204 PM CST Thu Jan 18 2018/

...HIGH RIP CURRENT RISK IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 PM EST /8 PM CST/ THIS
EVENING...

The National Weather Service in Tallahassee has issued a High Rip
Current Risk, which is in effect until 9 PM EST /8 PM CST/ this
evening.

* IMPACTS...Stronger and more frequent rip currents will create
  dangerous swimming conditions.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

There is a high risk of rip currents.

Rip currents are powerful channels of water flowing quickly away
from shore, which occur most often at low spots or breaks in the
sandbar and in the vicinity of structures such as groins, jetties
and piers. Heed the advice of lifeguards, beach patrol flags and
signs.

If you become caught in a rip current, yell for help. Remain
calm, do not exhaust yourself and stay afloat while waiting for
help. If you have to swim out of a rip current, swim parallel to
shore and back toward the beach when possible. Do not attempt to
swim directly against a rip current as you will tire quickly.

&&

$$



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.