Non-Precipitation Warnings / Watches / Advisories
Issued by NWS Las Vegas, NV

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4
000
WWUS75 KVEF 131037
NPWVEF

URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE
National Weather Service Las Vegas NV
237 AM PST Wed Dec 13 2017

AZZ002-036-CAZ524-526-527-NVZ021-022-132330-
/O.NEW.KVEF.WI.Y.0052.171214T1000Z-171215T0200Z/
Lake Havasu and Fort Mohave-Lake Mead National Recreation Area-
Eastern Mojave Desert-Cadiz Basin-San Bernardino County-
Upper Colorado River Valley-Southern Clark County-
Including Lake Havasu City, Desert Hills, Topock,
Bullhead City, Oatman, Mohave Valley, Baker, Mountain Pass,
Mitchell Caverns, Vidal Junction, Needles, Hoover Dam, Laughlin,
Primm, .Searchlight, and Cal-Nev-Ari
237 AM PST Wed Dec 13 2017 /337 AM MST Wed Dec 13 2017/

...WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 2 AM PST /3 AM MST/ TO 6 PM PST
/7 PM MST/ THURSDAY FOR EXTREME SOUTHERN NEVADA...THE COLORADO
RIVER VALLEY AND EASTERN SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY...

The National Weather Service in Las Vegas has issued a Wind
Advisory, which is in effect from 2 AM PST /3 AM MST/ to 6 PM PST
/7 PM MST/ Thursday.

* TIMING...Winds will increase with and behind a cold front after
  2 AM Thursday and continue through the afternoon.

* WINDS...North 25 to 35 MPH with gusts 40 to 55 MPH.

* IMPACTS...Strong cross winds will make driving difficult...
  especially for high profile vehicles. Use extra caution. Strong
  winds over the open waters will make the lake water choppy and
  hazardous...and may result in high waves which could tip or
  swamp smaller craft.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

Drivers should use caution and be prepared for sudden wind gusts. Take
action to secure trash cans...lawn furniture...and other loose or
lightweight outdoor objects. Boaters should avoid the open waters
and stay close to shore or around protected areas.

&&

$$



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.