Marine Weather Message
Issued by NWS Marquette, MI

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
000
WHUS73 KMQT 132134
MWWMQT

URGENT - MARINE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MARQUETTE MI
434 PM EST FRI JAN 13 2017

LSZ242>244-140545-
/O.NEW.KMQT.UP.W.0007.170114T0400Z-170114T1800Z/
/O.CON.KMQT.SC.Y.0011.170114T0800Z-170114T2300Z/
ONTONAGON TO UPPER ENTRANCE OF PORTAGE CANAL MI-
UPPER ENTRANCE OF PORTAGE CANAL TO EAGLE RIVER MI-
EAGLE RIVER TO MANITOU ISLAND MI-
434 PM EST FRI JAN 13 2017

...HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 11 PM THIS EVENING
TO 1 PM EST SATURDAY...
...SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 3 AM TO 6 PM EST
SATURDAY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MARQUETTE HAS ISSUED A HEAVY
FREEZING SPRAY WARNING...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 11 PM THIS
EVENING TO 1 PM EST SATURDAY.

* TIMING: EXPECT HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY TO OCCUR FROM 11 PM THIS
  EVENING TO 1 PM EST SATURDAY.

A SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 3 AM TO 6 PM EST
SATURDAY.

* WIND AND WAVES DURING THE SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY: EXPECT
  SUSTAINED WINDS OF UP TO 27 KNOTS FROM THE WEST...WITH GUSTS
  UP TO 32 KNOTS. THE LARGEST EXPECTED SIGNIFICANT WAVES WILL BE
  9 FEET WITH A MAXIMUM WAVE HEIGHT OF UP TO 13 FEET POSSIBLE.

* TIMING: THE MAXIMUM WINDS ARE EXPECTED AROUND 7 AM EST
  SATURDAY WITH THE LARGEST WAVES EXPECTED AROUND 9 AM EST
  SATURDAY.

PLEASE SEE THE LATEST MARINE FORECASTS FOR MORE DETAILED
INFORMATION.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY WARNING MEANS HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY IS
EXPECTED TO RAPIDLY ACCUMULATE ON VESSELS. THESE CONDITIONS CAN
BE EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS TO NAVIGATION. IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT
MARINERS NOT TRAINED TO OPERATE IN THESE CONDITIONS OR VESSELS
NOT PROPERLY EQUIPPED TO DO SO...REMAIN IN PORT OR AVOID THE
WARNING AREA.

A SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY MEANS THAT WIND SPEEDS OF 21 TO 33 KNOTS
ARE EXPECTED TO PRODUCE HAZARDOUS WAVE CONDITIONS TO SMALL CRAFT.
INEXPERIENCED MARINERS...ESPECIALLY THOSE OPERATING SMALLER
VESSELS SHOULD AVOID NAVIGATING IN THESE CONDITIONS.

&&

$$

LSZ162-263-264-140545-
/O.NEW.KMQT.UP.W.0007.170114T0400Z-170114T1800Z/
LAKE SUPERIOR WEST OF A LINE FROM SAXON HARBOR WI TO GRAND
PORTAGE MN BEYOND 5NM-
LAKE SUPERIOR FROM SAXON HARBOR WI TO UPPER ENTRANCE TO PORTAGE
CANAL MI 5NM OFF SHORE TO THE US/CANADIAN BORDER INCLUDING ISLE
ROYALE NATIONAL PARK-
LAKE SUPERIOR FROM UPPER ENTRANCE TO PORTAGE CANAL TO MANITOU
ISLAND MI 5NM OFF SHORE TO THE US/CANADIAN BORDER-
434 PM EST FRI JAN 13 2017 /334 PM CST FRI JAN 13 2017/

...HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 11 PM EST /10 PM
CST/ THIS EVENING TO 1 PM EST /NOON CST/ SATURDAY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MARQUETTE HAS ISSUED A HEAVY
FREEZING SPRAY WARNING...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 11 PM EST /10 PM
CST/ THIS EVENING TO 1 PM EST /NOON CST/ SATURDAY.

* TIMING: EXPECT HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY TO OCCUR FROM 11 PM EST
  /10 PM CST/ THIS EVENING TO 1 PM EST /NOON CST/ SATURDAY.

PLEASE SEE THE LATEST MARINE FORECASTS FOR MORE DETAILED
INFORMATION.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY WARNING MEANS HEAVY FREEZING SPRAY IS
EXPECTED TO RAPIDLY ACCUMULATE ON VESSELS. THESE CONDITIONS CAN
BE EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS TO NAVIGATION. IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT
MARINERS NOT TRAINED TO OPERATE IN THESE CONDITIONS OR VESSELS
NOT PROPERLY EQUIPPED TO DO SO...REMAIN IN PORT OR AVOID THE
WARNING AREA.

&&

$$

LSZ241-140545-
/O.CON.KMQT.SC.Y.0011.170114T0800Z-170114T2300Z/
BLACK RIVER TO ONTONAGON MI-
434 PM EST FRI JAN 13 2017 /334 PM CST FRI JAN 13 2017/

...SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 3 AM EST /2 AM
CST/ TO 6 PM EST /5 PM CST/ SATURDAY...

A SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 3 AM EST /2 AM CST/
TO 6 PM EST /5 PM CST/ SATURDAY.

* WIND AND WAVES DURING THE SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY: EXPECT
  SUSTAINED WINDS OF UP TO 24 KNOTS FROM THE SOUTHWEST...WITH
  GUSTS UP TO 27 KNOTS. THE LARGEST EXPECTED SIGNIFICANT WAVES
  WILL BE 5 FEET WITH A MAXIMUM WAVE HEIGHT OF UP TO 7 FEET
  POSSIBLE.

* TIMING: THE MAXIMUM WINDS ARE EXPECTED AROUND 8 AM EST
  SATURDAY WITH THE LARGEST WAVES EXPECTED AROUND 9 AM EST
  SATURDAY.

PLEASE SEE THE LATEST MARINE FORECASTS FOR MORE DETAILED
INFORMATION.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY MEANS THAT WIND SPEEDS OF 21 TO 33 KNOTS
ARE EXPECTED TO PRODUCE HAZARDOUS WAVE CONDITIONS TO SMALL CRAFT.
INEXPERIENCED MARINERS...ESPECIALLY THOSE OPERATING SMALLER
VESSELS SHOULD AVOID NAVIGATING IN THESE CONDITIONS.

&&

$$

PETRO



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.