weather.gov     
National Weather Service

Watches, Warnings & Advisories
NWS Homepage

Gale Warning


URGENT - MARINE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MARQUETTE MI
1032 AM EST FRI NOV 21 2014

LSZ263-264-212345-
/O.CON.KMQT.GL.W.0039.141121T2200Z-141122T1200Z/
LAKE SUPERIOR FROM SAXON HARBOR WI TO UPPER ENTRANCE TO PORTAGE
CANAL MI 5NM OFF SHORE TO THE US/CANADIAN BORDER INCLUDING ISLE
ROYALE NATIONAL PARK-
LAKE SUPERIOR FROM UPPER ENTRANCE TO PORTAGE CANAL TO MANITOU
ISLAND MI 5NM OFF SHORE TO THE US/CANADIAN BORDER-
1032 AM EST FRI NOV 21 2014

...GALE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 5 PM THIS AFTERNOON TO
7 AM EST SATURDAY...

A GALE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 5 PM THIS AFTERNOON TO 7 AM
EST SATURDAY.

* WIND AND WAVES DURING THE GALE WARNING: EXPECT SUSTAINED WINDS
  OF UP TO 33 KNOTS FROM THE SOUTHWEST...WITH GUSTS UP TO 40
  KNOTS. THE LARGEST EXPECTED SIGNIFICANT WAVES WILL BE 14 FEET
  WITH A MAXIMUM WAVE HEIGHT OF UP TO 20 FEET POSSIBLE.

* TIMING: THE MAXIMUM WINDS ARE EXPECTED AROUND 10 PM EST FRIDAY
  WITH THE LARGEST WAVES EXPECTED AROUND 12 AM EST SATURDAY.

PLEASE SEE THE LATEST MARINE FORECASTS FOR MORE DETAILED
INFORMATION.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A GALE WARNING MEANS WINDS OF 34 TO 47 KNOTS ARE IMMINENT OR
OCCURRING. OPERATING A VESSEL IN GALE CONDITIONS REQUIRES
EXPERIENCE AND PROPERLY EQUIPPED VESSELS. IT IS HIGHLY
RECOMMENDED THAT MARINERS WITHOUT THE PROPER EXPERIENCE SEEK SAFE
HARBOR PRIOR TO THE ONSET OF GALE CONDITIONS.

&&

$$

URGENT - MARINE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MARQUETTE MI
1032 AM EST FRI NOV 21 2014

LSZ162-212345-
/O.CON.KMQT.GL.W.0039.141121T2200Z-141122T1200Z/
LAKE SUPERIOR WEST OF A LINE FROM SAXON HARBOR WI TO GRAND
PORTAGE MN BEYOND 5NM-
1032 AM EST FRI NOV 21 2014 /932 AM CST FRI NOV 21 2014/

...GALE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 5 PM EST /4 PM CST/ THIS
AFTERNOON TO 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ SATURDAY...

A GALE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 5 PM EST /4 PM CST/ THIS
AFTERNOON TO 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ SATURDAY.

* WIND AND WAVES DURING THE GALE WARNING: EXPECT SUSTAINED WINDS
  OF UP TO 31 KNOTS FROM THE SOUTHWEST...WITH GUSTS UP TO 36
  KNOTS. THE LARGEST EXPECTED SIGNIFICANT WAVES WILL BE 12 FEET
  WITH A MAXIMUM WAVE HEIGHT OF UP TO 18 FEET POSSIBLE.

* TIMING: THE MAXIMUM WINDS ARE EXPECTED AROUND 7 PM EST FRIDAY
  WITH THE LARGEST WAVES EXPECTED AROUND 12 AM EST SATURDAY.

PLEASE SEE THE LATEST MARINE FORECASTS FOR MORE DETAILED
INFORMATION.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A GALE WARNING MEANS WINDS OF 34 TO 47 KNOTS ARE IMMINENT OR
OCCURRING. OPERATING A VESSEL IN GALE CONDITIONS REQUIRES
EXPERIENCE AND PROPERLY EQUIPPED VESSELS. IT IS HIGHLY
RECOMMENDED THAT MARINERS WITHOUT THE PROPER EXPERIENCE SEEK SAFE
HARBOR PRIOR TO THE ONSET OF GALE CONDITIONS.

&&

$$

U.S. Dept. of Commerce
NOAA National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
E-mail: w-nws.webmaster@noaa.gov
Page last modified: June 2, 2009
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE: for Safety, for Work, for Fun - FOR LIFE