weather.gov     
National Weather Service

Watches, Warnings & Advisories
NWS Homepage

High Wind Warning


URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MIDLAND/ODESSA TX
355 AM CDT FRI APR 29 2016

...HIGH WIND WARNING IN EFFECT TODAY THROUGH MID EVENING FOR THE
GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS...

...WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT TODAY FOR THE SOUTHEAST NEW MEXICO
PLAINS AND MUCH OF WEST TEXAS...

.AN UPPER LEVEL STORM SYSTEM WILL PASS TO THE NORTH TODAY AND
THIS EVENING. STRONG WINDS WILL ROUND THE BASE OF THE SYSTEM AND
MIX TO THE SURFACE...RESULTING IN STRONG TO DAMAGING WINDS ACROSS
THE GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS AND VERY WINDY CONDITIONS ACROSS MUCH
OF THE REMAINDER OF WEST TEXAS AND SOUTHEAST NEW MEXICO TODAY.

NMZ027-TXZ258-292000-
/O.CON.KMAF.HW.W.0020.160429T1500Z-160430T0300Z/
GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS OF EDDY COUNTY-GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF...QUEEN...GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS NP...
PINE SPRINGS
355 AM CDT FRI APR 29 2016 /255 AM MDT FRI APR 29 2016/

...HIGH WIND WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CDT /9 AM MDT/
THIS MORNING TO 10 PM CDT /9 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING...

* WINDS...WEST 25 TO 45 MPH WITH GUSTS TO 65 MPH.

* IMPACTS...WINDS WILL BE PARTICULARLY HAZARDOUS AT HIGHER
  ELEVATIONS WHERE THE STRONGEST WINDS ARE LIKELY TO OCCUR. BE
  ESPECIALLY CAREFUL DRIVING IN THESE MOUNTAINOUS AREAS. ABRUPT
  CHANGES IN WIND FORCES OCCUR WHEN ROUNDING SHARP TURNS OR
  PASSING OBSTACLES TO THE WIND RESULTING IN LOSS OF CONTROL OF
  VEHICLES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A HIGH WIND WARNING MEANS A HAZARDOUS HIGH WIND EVENT IS EXPECTED
OR OCCURRING. SUSTAINED WIND SPEEDS OF AT LEAST 40 MPH OR GUSTS
OF 58 MPH OR MORE CAN LEAD TO PROPERTY DAMAGE.

&&

$$

U.S. Dept. of Commerce
NOAA National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
E-mail: w-nws.webmaster@noaa.gov
Page last modified: June 2, 2009
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE: for Safety, for Work, for Fun - FOR LIFE