weather.gov     
National Weather Service

Watches, Warnings & Advisories
NWS Homepage

Winter Weather Advisory


URGENT - WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE...UPDATED
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE ABERDEEN SD
543 PM CST FRI FEB 12 2016

...LIGHT SNOW AND LIGHT FREEZING RAIN SETTING UP FOR SATURDAY...
...MODERATE TO HEAVY SNOW POSSIBLE SATURDAY NIGHT...

.AN AREA OF LOW PRESSURE CROSSING THE STATE SATURDAY AND SATURDAY
NIGHT WILL BRING A MIX OF FREEZING RAIN AND SNOW TO CENTRAL SOUTH
DAKOTA AND MODERATE SNOW ACCUMULATIONS TO EASTERN SOUTH DAKOTA.

SDZ003-009-015-016-033>036-045-048-051-131045-
/O.CON.KABR.WW.Y.0006.160213T1500Z-160214T0300Z/
CORSON-WALWORTH-DEWEY-POTTER-STANLEY-SULLY-HUGHES-HYDE-JONES-
LYMAN-BUFFALO-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF...MCLAUGHLIN...MOBRIDGE...TIMBER LAKE...
GETTYSBURG...FORT PIERRE...ONIDA...PIERRE...HIGHMORE...MURDO...
PRESHO...FORT THOMPSON
543 PM CST FRI FEB 12 2016 /443 PM MST FRI FEB 12 2016/

...WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 9 AM CST /8 AM
MST/ TO 9 PM CST /8 PM MST/ SATURDAY...

* TIMING...BY MID SATURDAY MORNING UNTIL EARLY SATURDAY EVENING

* MAIN IMPACT...1 TO 3 INCHES OF SNOW. UP TO A TENTH OF AN INCH OF
  ICE FROM FREEZING RAIN.

* OTHER IMPACTS...BREEZY SOUTH WINDS OF 15 TO 25 MPH WITH HIGHER
  GUSTS WILL GRADUALLY DECREASE THROUGHOUT THE DAY SATURDAY...
  BUT NOT BEFORE ADDING TO THE POTENTIALLY HAZARDOUS TRAVELING
  CONDITIONS CREATED BY A COMBINATION OF SNOW AND FREEZING RAIN

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY MEANS THAT PERIODS OF SNOW...SLEET...OR
FREEZING RAIN WILL CAUSE TRAVEL DIFFICULTIES. BE PREPARED FOR
SLIPPERY ROADS AND LIMITED VISIBILITIES...AND USE CAUTION WHILE
DRIVING.

&&

$$

U.S. Dept. of Commerce
NOAA National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
E-mail: w-nws.webmaster@noaa.gov
Page last modified: June 2, 2009
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE: for Safety, for Work, for Fun - FOR LIFE