Red Flag Warning
Issued by NWS Bismarck, ND

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1
000
WWUS83 KBIS 261415
RFWBIS

URGENT - FIRE WEATHER MESSAGE
National Weather Service Bismarck ND
915 AM CDT Thu Apr 26 2018

...RED FLAG WARNING FOR MUCH OF NORTHWEST NORTH DAKOTA THIS
AFTERNOON...

.Northwest winds will increase to 25 mph at times with gusts over
30 mph this afternoon. In addition, sunny skies and low relative
humidities around 20 percent combined with gusty winds will
create critical fire weather conditions. Any fires that ignite
over dormant grasses will spread quickly.

NDZ001-002-009-010-017-018-031-032-262215-
/O.NEW.KBIS.FW.W.0001.180426T1800Z-180427T0000Z/
Divide-Burke-Williams-Mountrail-McKenzie-Dunn-Golden Valley-
Billings-
915 AM CDT Thu Apr 26 2018 /815 AM MDT Thu Apr 26 2018/

...RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 1 PM CDT /NOON MDT/ THIS
AFTERNOON TO 7 PM CDT /6 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING FOR STRONG NORTHWEST
WINDS AND LOW HUMIDITIES FOR FIRE WEATHER ZONES 001, 002, 009,
010, 017, 018, 031, AND 032...

The National Weather Service in Bismarck has issued a Red Flag
Warning, which is in effect from 1 PM CDT /noon MDT/ this
afternoon to 7 PM CDT /6 PM MDT/ this evening.

* AFFECTED AREA...Fire weather zones 001, 002, 009, 010, 017,
  018, 031, and 032.

* WIND...Sustained northwest winds 20 to 25 mph with gusts up to
  35 mph.

* HUMIDITY...Minimum relative humidities near 20 percent.

* IMPACTS...any fires that develop will likely spread rapidly.
  Outdoor burning is not recommended.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A Red Flag Warning means that critical fire weather conditions
are either occurring now....or will shortly. A combination of
strong winds...low relative humidity...and warm temperatures can
contribute to extreme fire behavior.

&&

$$

TJK/TH/JV



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.