Tsunami Bulletin
Issued by NWS

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50
324
WEXX32 PAAQ 091806
TIBATE

Tsunami Information Statement Number 1
NWS National Tsunami Warning Center Palmer AK
206 PM EDT Tue Apr 9 2019

...THIS IS A TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT FOR THE U.S. EAST COAST,
  GULF OF MEXICO STATES, AND EASTERN CANADA...

EVALUATION
----------
* There is no tsunami danger for the U.S. east coast, the Gulf of
  Mexico states, or the eastern coast of Canada.

* Based on the depth of the earthquake, a tsunami is not
  expected.

* An earthquake has occurred with parameters listed below.


PRELIMINARY EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS
---------------------------------

* The following parameters are based on a rapid preliminary
  assessment of the earthquake and changes may occur.

* Magnitude  6.7
* Origin Time  1354EDT Apr 09 2019
  1254CDT Apr 09 2019
  0154AST Apr 09 2019
  1754UTC Apr 09 2019
* Coordinates  58.7 South 25.1 West
* Depth  71 miles
* Location  in the South Sandwich Islands region, South
Atlantic Ocean


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND NEXT UPDATE
--------------------------------------
* Refer to the internet site tsunami.gov for more information.

* Caribbean coastal regions should refer to the Pacific
  Tsunami Warning Center messages at tsunami.gov.

* This will be the only U.S. National Tsunami Warning Center
  message issued for this event unless additional information
  becomes available.

$$



USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.