weather.gov     
National Weather Service

Watches, Warnings & Advisories
NWS Homepage

High Surf Advisory


Coastal Hazard Message
National Weather Service Tallahassee FL
332 PM EDT Tue Oct 27 2020

FLZ112-114-282200-
/O.NEW.KTAE.SU.Y.0009.201028T1200Z-201029T2300Z/
/O.NEW.KTAE.CF.Y.0006.201028T1800Z-201030T0000Z/
/O.CON.KTAE.RP.S.0092.000000T0000Z-201031T1000Z/
Coastal Bay-Coastal Gulf-
332 PM EDT Tue Oct 27 2020 /232 PM CDT Tue Oct 27 2020/

...HIGH RIP CURRENT RISK REMAINS IN EFFECT THROUGH LATE FRIDAY
NIGHT...
...HIGH SURF ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM CDT/
WEDNESDAY TO 7 PM EDT /6 PM CDT/ THURSDAY...
...COASTAL FLOOD ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/
WEDNESDAY TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THURSDAY...

* WHAT...For the High Surf Advisory, large breaking waves of 5 to
  9 feet expected in the surf zone. For the Coastal Flood
  Advisory, minor coastal flooding expected with water levels 1 to
  2 feet above mean higher high water. For the High Rip Current
  Risk, dangerous rip currents.

* WHERE...Coastal Bay and Coastal Gulf Counties.

* WHEN...For the High Surf Advisory, from 8 AM EDT /7 AM CDT/
  Wednesday to 7 PM EDT /6 PM CDT/ Thursday. For the Coastal Flood
  Advisory, from 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ Wednesday to 8 PM EDT /7 PM
  CDT/ Thursday. For the High Rip Current Risk, through late
  Friday night. Peak flooding is expected around the time of high
  tide on Wednesday night through Thursday afternoon. High tide at
  Panama City is 912 pm CT Wednesday evening and 1034 am CT
  Thursday morning.

* IMPACTS...At 2 feet, water floods through beach access points
  along the Gulf. Minor flooding occurs around the Panama City
  Marina and around Cape San Blas. Dangerous swimming and surfing
  conditions and localized beach erosion. Rip currents can sweep
  even the best swimmers away from shore into deeper water.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

If travel is required, allow extra time as some roads may be
closed. Do not drive around barricades or through water of
unknown depth. Take the necessary actions to protect flood-prone
property.

Inexperienced swimmers should remain out of the water due to
dangerous surf conditions.

Swim near a lifeguard. If caught in a rip current, relax and
float. Don`t swim against the current. If able, swim in a
direction following the shoreline. If unable to escape, face the
shore and call or wave for help.

&&

$$

U.S. Dept. of Commerce
NOAA National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
E-mail: w-nws.webmaster@noaa.gov
Page last modified: June 2, 2009
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE: for Safety, for Work, for Fun - FOR LIFE