Public Information Statement
Issued by NWS Central Illinois

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary Off
Versions: 1 2 3 4

NOUS43 KILX 190208

Public Information Statement
National Weather Service Lincoln IL
908 PM CDT TUE OCT 18 2016


Officials from the National Weather Service presented Dorothy and
Bill Bullard of Morrisonville (Christian County) with the Benjamin
Franklin Award today. This award is given to cooperative weather
observers who have completed 55 years of service. The Bullards
began taking weather observations for Morrisonville on October 11,
1961. During this period, they have provided the National Weather
Service (and its predecessor agency, the U.S. Weather Bureau) with
over 20,000 weather observations for the Morrisonville area.

The award is named after Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790), who tried
to explain the reasons for various weather related phenomena, and
discovered some ways to predict the weather. It is signed by the
NOAA Assistant Administrator for Weather Services, Dr. Louis W.
Uccellini. Ernest Goetsch, the Meteorologist-in-Charge of our
office, presented the award, assisted by our Data Acquisition
Program Manager, Billy Ousley.

During their 55 years of service, the Bullards have also been
presented with the John Campanius Holm Award (granted to a maximum
of 25 observers nationwide each year), and the Thomas Jefferson
Award (the most prestigious award for weather observers, with
usually no more than 5 given out nationally each year).

Geelhart is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.