Area Forecast Discussion
Issued by NWS Knoxville/Tri Cities, TN

Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50
-- Highlight Changed Discussion --
-- Discussion containing changed information from previous version are highlighted. --
000 FXUS64 KMRX 161554 AFDMRX Area Forecast Discussion National Weather Service Morristown TN 1054 AM EST Tue Jan 16 2018 .DISCUSSION...
-- Changed Discussion --
Issuing a Wind Chill Advisory for much of plateau for tonight, beginning at 9pm. Also, have updated overnight low temps, bringing them lower--looking upstream, think that some of the guidance is too warm. Keeping Winter Weather Advisory as is--snow amounts look good; onset in far northeast looks a little slower, but will not adjust Advisory for that area--expire time of 1am there looks good. Have warmed up Max Temps for today ahead of front as present temps were elevating above forecast maxes. However, cold air will hit with a fury, as temps in Scott TN are already falling again-- into upper teens. Last check of forecast precip type--still looking like all snow event as solid wall of cold advection will accompany precip.
-- End Changed Discussion --
&& .PRELIMINARY POINT TEMPS/POPS...
-- Changed Discussion --
Chattanooga Airport, TN 36 11 27 16 / 80 30 0 0 Knoxville McGhee Tyson Airport, TN 34 10 23 12 / 90 40 0 0 Oak Ridge, TN 33 9 25 12 / 90 40 0 0 Tri Cities Airport, TN 40 12 21 11 / 80 70 10 0
-- End Changed Discussion --
&& .MRX WATCHES/WARNINGS/ADVISORIES...
-- Changed Discussion --
NC...Winter Weather Advisory until 1 AM EST Wednesday for Cherokee- Clay. TN...Winter Weather Advisory until 1 AM EST Wednesday for Blount Smoky Mountains-Bradley-Cocke Smoky Mountains-East Polk- Grainger-Hamblen-Hancock-Hawkins-Jefferson-Johnson-Knox- Loudon-McMinn-NW Blount-North Sevier-Northwest Carter- Northwest Cocke-Northwest Greene-Northwest Monroe-Sevier Smoky Mountains-Southeast Carter-Southeast Greene-Southeast Monroe-Sullivan-Unicoi-Washington TN-West Polk. Winter Weather Advisory until 7 PM EST /6 PM CST/ this evening for Anderson-Bledsoe-Campbell-Claiborne-Hamilton-Marion- Meigs-Morgan-Rhea-Roane-Scott TN-Sequatchie-Union. Wind Chill Advisory from 9 PM EST /8 PM CST/ this evening to 11 AM EST /10 AM CST/ Wednesday for Bledsoe-Campbell-Marion- Morgan-Scott TN-Sequatchie. VA...Winter Weather Advisory until 1 AM EST Wednesday for Russell- Scott-Washington. Winter Weather Advisory until 1 AM EST Wednesday for Lee-Wise.
-- End Changed Discussion --
&& $$ GM

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.