Area Forecast Discussion
Issued by NWS Bismarck, ND

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50
000
FXUS63 KBIS 312113
AFDBIS

AREA FORECAST DISCUSSION
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE BISMARCK ND
413 PM CDT TUE MAR 31 2015

.SHORT TERM...(THIS EVENING THROUGH WEDNESDAY)

ISSUED AT 410 PM CDT TUE MAR 31 2015

CURRENT SURFACE ANALYSIS PLACES LOW OVER SOUTHERN ALBERTA WITH
FRONTAL BOUNDARY DROPPING DOWN INTO WESTERN MONTANA. UPPER LEVEL
ANALYSIS PLACES RIDGE OVER THE NORTHERN PLAINS WITH WEST/NORTHWEST
FLOW OVER OUR AREA. SOUTHERLY LOW LEVEL FLOW CONTINUES OVER OUR
AREA BRINGING WELL ABOVE TO NEAR RECORD TEMPERATURES.

FOR TONIGHT...AFOREMENTIONED COLD FRONT CONTINUES ITS APPROACH...
STARTING TO WORK ITS WAY IN TOWARDS WEDNESDAY MORNING.
OTHERWISE...A WEAK SHORT WAVE MOVING UP THE RIDGE AS IT PASSES
OVER OUR AREA MAY BRING A FEW SHOWERS TO FAR NORTHERN LOCATIONS.
WITH SOME WEAK INSTABILITY IN PLACE...CAN NOT RULE OUT THE
POSSIBILITY OF A WEAK THUNDERSTORM OR TWO.

ON WEDNESDAY...FRONT WORKS THROUGH THE AREA IN THE MORNING WITH
VERY WINDY CONDITIONS DEVELOPING IN ITS WAKE. STRONGEST WINDS WILL
BE MAINLY OVER WESTERN INTO PARTS OF CENTRAL NORTH DAKOTA WHERE
GREATEST PRESSURE RISES ARE EXPECTED. A FEW SHOWERS CAN NOT BE
RULED OUT IN THE MORNING OVER THE FAR NORTH...WITH LITTLE PRECIP
IF ANY EXPECTED. DRY CONDITIONS WILL COMBINE WITH THE GUSTY WINDS
AND CRISPY FUELS TO BRING CRITICAL FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS OVER
THE AREA (SEE FIRE WEATHER DISCUSSION BELOW).


.LONG TERM...(WEDNESDAY NIGHT THROUGH TUESDAY)

ISSUED AT 410 PM CDT TUE MAR 31 2015

A COOLER AND QUASI-ACTIVE PATTERN WILL DOMINATE THE LONG TERM
PERIOD AS DEEP LOW PRESSURE SETS UP OVER THE HUDSON BAY BRINGING
A STRONG NORTHWESTERLY FLOW ALOFT TO NORTH DAKOTA THROUGH AT LEAST
THE WEEKEND.

COLD FRONT PUSHES THROUGH WEDNESDAY NIGHT-THURSDAY BRINGING A
CHANCE FOR LIGHT RAIN/SNOW AND BREEZY NORTHWESTERLY WINDS. COOLER
TEMPERATURES AND HIGHER RH VALUES THAN WHAT WE ARE CURRENTLY
SEEING SHOULD MINIMIZE FIRE WEATHER CONCERNS DURING THE DAY
THURSDAY.

EMBEDDED ENERGY WITHIN THE FLOW ALOFT WILL MAINTAIN CHANCES FOR
RAIN OR SNOW FRIDAY-SUNDAY WITH MORE SEASONAL DAYTIME HIGHS AND
LOWS. FLOW BECOMES MORE ZONAL AFTER THE WEEKEND WITH A POTENTIAL
STORM SYSTEM EARLY NEXT WEEK. WAY TOO MUCH UNCERTAINTY TO DIVE
INTO DETAILS AT THIS TIME...BUT SOMETHING WORTH WATCHING
CONSIDERING TEMPS ALOFT WOULD SUPPORT SNOW. HIGHER QPF VIA THE
12Z GFS...MUCH LOWER VIA THE 12Z ECMWF.


&&

.AVIATION...(FOR THE 18Z TAFS THROUGH 18Z WEDNESDAY AFTERNOON)

ISSUED AT 1207 PM CDT TUE MAR 31 2015

A LOW LEVEL JET WILL DEVELOP TONIGHT AHEAD OF AN APPROACHING COLD
FRONT WHICH WILL BRING LOW LEVEL WIND SHEAR TO MANY LOCATIONS. THE
FRONT WILL PASS THROUGH LATE TONIGHT INTO EARLY WEDNESDAY WITH
GUSTY WESTERLY WINDS DEVELOPING. LCL -TSRA WILL BE POSSIBLE OVER
NORTHWEST NORTH DAKOTA EARLY IN THE EVENING. OTHERWISE...VFR
CONDITIONS ARE EXPECTED THROUGH THE FORECAST PERIOD.


&&

.FIRE WEATHER...

ISSUED AT 347 PM CDT TUE MAR 31 2015

CRITICAL FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS WILL CONTINUE OVER
SOUTHWESTERN NORTH DAKOTA INTO THIS EVENING. A STRONG COLD FRONT
WILL PUSH THROUGH THE AREA LATE TONIGHT INTO WEDNESDAY MORNING.
STRONG WESTERLY WINDS WILL DEVELOP BEHIND THE FRONT WITH LOW
RELATIVE HUMIDITY VALUES THROUGH THE DAY ON WEDNESDAY INTO
WEDNESDAY EVENING. THESE WILL COMBINE WITH DRY FUELS THROUGHOUT
ALL OF WESTERN AND CENTRAL NORTH DAKOTA TO BRING CRITICAL FIRE
WEATHER CONDITIONS.

COOLER TEMPERATURES BRINGING HIGHER RELATIVE HUMIDITY VALUES WILL
COME TO THE AREA ON THURSDAY.


&&

.BIS WATCHES/WARNINGS/ADVISORIES...
RED FLAG WARNING FROM 11 AM CDT /10 AM MDT/ TO 10 PM CDT /9 PM
MDT/ WEDNESDAY FOR NDZ001>005-009>013-017>023-025-031>037-
040>048-050-051.

WIND ADVISORY FROM 6 AM CDT /5 AM MDT/ TO 8 PM CDT /7 PM MDT/
WEDNESDAY FOR NDZ001>003-009>011-017>021-031>034-040>045.

RED FLAG WARNING UNTIL 9 PM CDT /8 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING FOR
NDZ031>033-040>045.

&&

$$

SHORT TERM...JJS
LONG TERM...NH
AVIATION...JJS
FIRE WEATHER...JJS







USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.